Rootline

  1. SLUB Dresden
  2. Service
  3. FAQs
  4. Makerspace

FAQs - Makerspace

What does the slogan "Knowledge comes from ... making" mean?

The central tasks of the library, build knowledge, structure and convey, with the motto "Leading Knowledge" intensified by practical experiences in dealing with machines and manufacturing processes and methods in Makerspace. Because "Knowledge comes from ... making!. The connections of the Library and new technologies offers interesting opportunities for new collaborations and fields of acting.The focus of the creative work in our Makerspace are knowledge transfer and exchange. Users can learn from users and sharing existing know-how with each other.
   

What is the Makerspace M1?

The Makerspace of the SLUB Dresden is an open creative space for people who want to realize their own ideas and do-it-yourself projects. The Makerspace is located at the Departmental Library DrePunct and has been become a service for all users of the SLUB. There are you can try out new techniques, exchange experiences and find new people with common interests.
   

What is the Makerspace M2?

The Makerspace M2  is a work place   for conceptual project work with Makerspace reference. In addition, workshops, community meetings and presentations will be held in room M2. The Makerspace M2 is open during the opening times of the Departmental Library DrePunct.

What is the Makerspace M3?

The Makerspace M3  comprises two workstations for the independent digitisation of records and video cassettes. It is located in the central library on level -1 to the right of the information point music/media in the "glass box".

What are the opening hours of the Makerspace?

The current opening hours of Makerspace M1 refer to the  Makerspace  website. The Makerspace M2 is open during the opening times of the Departmental Library DrePunct and the Makerspace M3 is open during opening times of the Central Library.

Which machines, electrical appliances and tools are available?

Information about the available machines, electrical appliances and electrical tools and their usage can be found here. Please note in addition the information about the operation of each machine, small electrical appliances and tools. auf FAQ What are the requirements for the use of machinery, electrical appliances and tools?

What are the requirements for the use of machines, electrical appliances and tools?

The use of machines, electrical appliances and equipment is possible for all registered users of the SLUB. Necessary for the use of electrical appliances, is the participation on the course "Geräteführerschein Kleingeräte" and and a current occupational safety instruction. Your participation can be booked at  Makerspace Events Calendar. Machines are supervised by the Makerspace team. All information you can find on the  equipment booking.

What is a device reservation necessary for?

For the not freely usable machine, it is essential to reserve the particular machine before. For a smooth flow in the processing note the booking information. The disclosure of information to a project helps the Makerspace team and you projects easily realized.

What should I observe when I am working in Makerspace M1?

Please take note of our Terms of Use. Health and safety is the top priority for the use of machinery and electrical appliances. Appropriate dress for a workshop, especially footwear is necessary. Prerequisite for safe working are impeccable tools and cleanliness at the workplace. If you determine any damage on equipment or tools, report it immediately to our staff. In addition, we want each other to maintain a respectful and considerate treatment. Please taje note of our Terms of Use.

Are there any fees for using the Makerspace M1?

The Makerspace, including work surfaces, small electrical appliances and tools is free for all users of the SLUB. For the use of machinery, such as e.g. the laser-cutting-and-engraving-system and the 3D-printers are charged fees. The hours required are recorded by the devices and serve as a basis for calculation. The fee is posted to your user account and can be paid at the circulation desk, at the ticket machine at the Central Library. An overview about the chargeable machine can be find in the shedule of fees .

Can I purchase materials at the Makerspace?

No. The consumables (filament, gypsum, binder) for the 3D-printers are provided by the Makerspace. Anything else you need for your project must be brought.

What is the difference between Open factory and equipment booking?

At the Open factory there are small laser orders processed (to 10 minutes), make an appointment for larger projects and tips and information mediated about laser and 3D projects. For the implementation of larger projects. For realization of larger project we recommend you to make an equipment booking .

How do I know the status of my 3D printing?

At any time during the opening hours you can pass in Makerspace M1 or send us an email to query the status of your print.

1. SLUB Dresden
  2. Service
  3. FAQs
  4. Makerspace

FAQs - Makerspace

Was ist der Makerspace?

Der Makerspace der SLUB Dresden ist ein offener Kreativraum für Menschen, die neue Techniken ausprobieren, ihre Erfahrungen austauschen und Do-It-Yourself-Projekte realisieren möchten. Sie finden den Makerspace 1 und 2 in der Bereichsbibliothek DrePunct, den Makerspace 3 in der Zentralbibliothek Ebene -1.

Was bedeutet der Slogan „Wissen kommt von... Machen!“?

Die zentralen Aufgaben der Bibliothek, Wissen aufbauen, strukturieren und zu vermitteln, ganz nach dem Motto "Wir führen Wissen" werden im Makerspace durch praktische Erfahrungen im Umgang mit Maschinen und Fertigungsverfahren und -techniken vertieft. Denn "Wissen kommt von Machen!". Die Verknüpfung von Bibliothek und neuartigen Technologien bietet interessante Chancen für neue Kooperationen und Aktionsfelder. Im Fokus der kreativen Arbeit im Makerspace stehen Wissensvermittlung und Austausch. Nutzer können von Nutzern lernen und vorhandenes Know-How miteinander teilen.  

Wie sind die Öffnungszeiten des Makerspaces M1 und M2?

Die aktuellen Öffnungszeiten des Makerspace M1 entnehmen Sie der Makerspace Website. Der Makerspace M2 ist während der Öffnungszeiten der Bereichsbibliothek DrePunct geöffnet.

Was ist der Makerspace M2?

Der Makerspace M2 ist ein Gruppenarbeitsraum für konzeptuelle Projektarbeit mit Makerspace-Bezug. Darüber hinaus finden Workshops, Community-Treffen und Präsentationen im Raum M2 statt. Der Raum ist innerhalb der Öffnungszeiten der Bereichsbibliothek DrePunct geöffnet

Was gibt es für Maschinen, elektrische Kleingeräte und -werkzeuge?

Informationen zu den zur Verfügung stehenden Maschinen, elektrischen Kleingeräte und -werkzeugen und deren Nutzung finden Sie hier. Bitte beachten Sie darüber hinaus die Informationen zur Benutzung der einzelnen Maschinen, elektrischen Kleingeräten und -werkzeugen.

Was sind die Voraussetzungen für die Benutzung der Maschinen, elektrische Kleingeräte und -werkzeuge?

Die Nutzung der Maschinen, elektrischen Kleingeräte und -werkzeuge ist allen angemeldeten Nutzern der SLUB möglich. Für die Benutzung elektrischer Kleingeräte ist die Teilnahme am Kurs "Geräteführerschein Kleingeräte“ notwendig. Ihre Teilnahme können Sie im Makerspace Veranstaltungskalender buchen. Maschinen werden durch das Makerspace Team betreut. Bitte beachten Sie die Informationen zur Gerätebuchung.


Wozu ist eine Gerätebuchung nötig?

Für die nicht frei nutzbaren Maschinen ist es notwendig die jeweilige Maschine vorher zu reservieren. Für einen reibungslosen Ablauf bei der Bearbeitung beachten Sie bitte die Informationen zum Buchungsablauf auf der Makerspace Website. Die Angabe von Informationen zu Ihrem Projekt hilft dem Makerspace Team und auch Ihnen Projekte problemlos zu realisieren.

Was sollte ich beim Arbeiten im Makerspace beachten?

Bitte beachten Sie unsere Nutzungsbedingungen. Arbeitsschutz ist das oberste Gebot für die Nutzung der Maschinen und elektrischen Kleingeräte. Auf angemessene Kleidung für eine Werkstatt, insbesondere festes Schuhwerk ist zu achten. Voraussetzung für sicheres Arbeiten sind einwandfreie Werkzeuge sowie Sauberkeit am Arbeitsplatz. Stellen Sie Beschädigungen an Geräten oder Werkzeugen fest, melden Sie dies bitten umgehend unserem Personal. Darüber hinaus möchten wir einen respektvollen und rücksichtsvollen Umgang miteinander pflegen.

Welche Gebühren fallen für die Nutzung des Makerspaces an?

Der Makerspace, inklusive der Arbeitsflächen, elektrischen Kleingeräten und -werkzeugen ist für alle SLUB Nutzer kostenfrei. Für die Benutzung von Maschinen, wie z.B. der Laserschneid- und Gravieranlage und den 3D-Druckern werden Gebühren erhoben. Die benötigten Zeiten werden von den Geräten erfasst und dienen als Berechnungsgrundlage. Die Gebühr wird auf Ihr Nutzerkonto gebucht und kann an der Ausleihtheken, am Kassenautomaten in der Zentralbibliothek gezahlt werden.  Eine Übersicht über die gebührenpflichtigen Maschinennutzung finden Sie in der Gebührenübersicht.  

Kann ich im Makerspace Materialien kaufen?

Nein. Die Verbrauchsmaterialien (Filament, Gips, Bindemittel) für die 3D-Drucker werden vom Makerspace zur Verfügung gestellt. Alle anderen für Ihr Projekt benötigten Materialien müssen selbst mitgebracht werden.

Was ist der Unterschied zwischen Offener Werkstatt und Gerätebuchung?

Es werden kleine Laseraufträge (bis 10 Minuten) bearbeitet, Termine für umfangreichere Projekte vereinbart sowie Tipps und Infos zu Laser- und 3D-Projekten vermittelt. Für die Umsetzung größerer Projekte empfehlen wir, eine Gerätebuchung durchzuführen.

Wie erfahre ich den Status meines 3D-Druckes?

Sie können jederzeit während der Öffnungszeiten im Makerspace vorbei kommen oder eine E-Mail schreiben um den Status ihres Druckes abzufragen.